Thursday, July 01, 2010

2010 Crime Novel of the Year Award - shortlist

The shortlist for the 2010 Theakstons Old Peculier Crime Novel of the Year Award has been announced:
In the Dark by Mark Billingham
The Surrogate by Tania Carver
A Simple Act of Violence by R.J. Ellory
The Crossing Places by Elly Griffiths
Dead Tomorrow by Peter James
Gallows Lane by Brian McGilloway
Doors Open by Ian Rankin
Child 44 by Tom Rob Smith
You can see the longlist here.

From the press release:
Now in its sixth year, the Theakstons Old Peculier Crime Novel of the Year Award was created to celebrate the very best in crime writing, and is open to British and Irish authors whose novels were published in paperback in 2009.

The winner of the prize will be announced by radio broadcaster and festival regular Mark Lawson on the opening night of the Theakstons Old Peculier Crime Writing Festival in Harrogate on Thursday 22nd July. The winner will receive a £3,000 cash prize, as well as a handmade, engraved beer barrel provided by T&R Theakston Ltd.

Unlike other literary awards, with the Crime Novel of the Year it's what readers think that really counts. Voting reopens from 1st to 21st July to help determine which of the 8 Shortlisted books will go on to take the prize.

Vote now at

All votes received at Longlist stage will be reset to zero, so your favourite author will need your help to claim the prize!

The eventual winner will be decided by combining the result of this public vote with the votes of a panel of expert judges: Jenni Murray, BBC Radio 4 broadcaster and author; John Dugdale, Guardian Associate Media Editor; Natalie Haynes, comedian and journalist; and Simon Theakston, Executive Director of T&R Theakston Ltd.

Dalziel and Pascoe author Reginald Hill is also set to receive the inaugural Theakston Old Peculier Outstanding Contribution to Crime Fiction Award at the prize ceremony on 22nd July.

No comments: