Thursday, July 19, 2012

Winner of Theakstons Crime Novel of the Year Award 2012

The winner of the Theakstons Old Peculier Crime Novel of the Year Award 2012 was announced tonight at the opening ceremony for the tenth Harrogate Crime Writing Festival.

And the winner is...Denise Mina for The End of the Wasp Season

Also Shortlisted (links are to Euro Crime reviews)

Now You See Me by SJ Bolton (Corgi)
Where the Bodies Are Buried by Chris Brookmyre (Abacus)
The Burning Soul by John Connolly (Hodder Paperback)
Black Flowers by Steve Mosby (Orion)
Before I Go To Sleep by SJ Watson (Black Swan)

Photos of (some of) the nominees receiving their tankards:

SJ Bolton

John Connolly

Denise Mina
Steve Mosby
SJ Watson

Colin Dexter speaking after receiving the Theakstons Old Peculier Outstanding Contribution to Crime Fiction Award:

and the winner of the crime novel of the year is...Denise Mina (with Simon Theakston)


Anonymous said...

Thanks for the news, Karen.

kathy d. said...

I'm very glad to see Denise Mina won for her fascinating combination of police procedural, whodunnit and psychological suspense.

She deserves the award for The End of the Wasp Season, but also for her terrific body of work.

And I'm thrilled that a woman won!