Thursday, April 24, 2008

Theakstons Crime Novel of the Year Award - Longlist

The 20 titles in contention for this year's Theakstons' award have just been announced with a whole 4 female authors making the cut...(down from 6 in 2007)

Links are to the Euro Crime reviews
Simon Beckett, The Chemistry of Death
Mark Billingham, Buried
Benjamin Black, Christine Falls
Christopher Brookmyre, A Tale Etched in Blood and Hard Black Pencil
Sophie Hannah, Hurting Distance
John Harvey, Darkness and Light
Reginald Hill, The Death of Dalziel
Susan Hill, The Risk of Darkness
Graham Hurley, One Under
Peter James, Not Dead Enough
Simon Kernick, Relentless
Patrick Lennon, Corn Dolls
Stuart MacBride, Dying Light
Alexander McCall Smith, Blue Shoes and Happiness
Val McDermid, The Grave Tattoo
Mark Mills, The Savage Garden
Stef Penney, The Tenderness of Wolves
Peter Robinson, Piece of my Heart
C.J. Sansom, Sovereign
Chris Simms, Shifting Skin
Voting by the public is now open and the shortlist will be announced at the end of June.

1 comment:

Anonymous said...

Of the books on this list I've read, they have selected some good ones. But I agree with you that the number of female authors is extremely disappointing given the number of excellent books published in the past year.

I wonder if they have another award for translated crime.