Tuesday, July 01, 2014

Awards News: Theakstons Crime Novel of the Year 2014 - Shortlist

The shortlist for the Theakstons Crime Novel of the Year 2014 has been announced. From the BBC's website (links are to Euro Crime reviews):


The Red Road - Denise Mina

The Necessary Death of Lewis Winter - Malcolm Mackay

The Chessmen - Peter May

Rubbernecker - Belinda Bauer

Dying Fall - Elly Griffiths

Eleven Days - Stav Sherez

The award is open to British and Irish authors whose novels were published in paperback in the last year.

The winner will be decided by a panel, chaired by writer Steve Mosby, which includes Simon Theakston, the executive director of Theakston; Radio Times' Alison Graham and Dave Swillman, head of fiction at WH Smith.

A public vote will also be included in the final decision.

Broadcaster Mark Lawson will host the awards on the opening night of the 12th annual Theakstons Old Peculier Crime Writing Festival in Harrogate on 17 July.

The winner will receive a £3,000 cash prize - as well as a handmade, engraved beer barrel.

Also on the night, Lynda La Plante will receive the Outstanding Contribution to Crime Fiction Award, joining past winners Ruth Rendell, PD James, Colin Dexter and Reginald Hill.

Harrogate Crime Writing Festival

1 comment:

Unknown said...

I recently read Rubbernecker and absolutely loved it. It will probably get my vote. Though I'm a huge fan of many of these authors.