Friday, October 14, 2011

Ellis Peters Historical Award - Shortlist

Thanks to Crime Scraps, I hear that the Ellis Peters Historical Award Shortlist has been announced. Here are the six contenders, with links to reviews on Euro Crime:

The Crime Writers’ Association has announced the shortlist for this year’s prestigious Ellis Peters Historical Award. The six books on the shortlist are:

Rory Clements Prince (John Murray)
Sam Eastland The Red Coffin (Faber & Faber)
Gordon Ferris The Hanging Shed (Corvus)
Andrew Martin The Somme Stations (Faber & Faber)
RN Morris The Cleansing Flames (Faber & Faber)
Imogen Robertson Island of Bones (Headline)

CWA chair Peter James said: “Historical fiction remains as popular as ever and has seen the creation of some of crime writing’s most enduring characters. This year’s books continue that fine tradition.“

The winner will be announced on November 30 at the Athenaeum in London.

Read more about each book on the CWA website.

1 comment:

Maxine Clarke said...

I hope this leaves people enough time to read the shortlist before the winner is announced! It's a tight schedule, again. I haven't read any of these because I don't read much historical fiction, but The Hanging Shed was very well-received.