Wednesday, July 03, 2013

Theakstons Crime Novel of the Year 2013 - Shortlist

The shortlist for the Theakstons Old Peculier Crime Novel of the Year  Award 2013 was announced yesterday. The winner will be announced at Harrogate on 18 July however we the public will be able to vote on the shortlist from 4 to 16 July at The public vote counts for 20% of the final decision.

In addition: "Ruth Rendell will receive the Outstanding Contribution to Crime Fiction Award on the night, joining past winners PD James, Colin Dexter and Reginald Hill".

The criteria: "...the Theakstons Old Peculier Crime Novel of the  Year Award was created to celebrate the very best in crime writing and  is open to British and Irish authors whose novels are published in  paperback from 1 May 2012 – 30 April 2013".

More about the award and the shortlisted titles can be found on the Harrogate Crime Writing Festival website.

2013 Shortlist (links are to Euro Crime reviews)

Rush Of Blood – Mark Billingham (Little Brown)
Gods And Beasts – Denise Mina (Orion)

1 comment:

Nikki-ann said...

I'd read half of the shortlist last year, but haven't read any of this year's, so I'm not quite should who I'd vote for! Maybe I should get and read...!

Not long to go now!