Monday, April 16, 2012

Dagger in the Library - Longlist

The longlist for the 2012 CWA Dagger in the Library has been announced. Firstly, here's a bit of information on the award from the CWA's website:

Authors like Val McDermid and Ian Rankin are well-known amongst the readers of crime fiction but, beneath the top rank of bestsellers are a host of writers, some new and some who have built loyal followings over the years but who have never quite broken through. It is to give a boost to these authors that the Crime Writers’ Association Dagger in the Library Award exists. Again kindly sponsored by the publishers, Random House, the Dagger is awarded to a writer nominated by library users and chosen by a panel of librarians, all of whom work with the public.

Unlike most other literary prizes, the Dagger in the Library is awarded not for an individual book but for the author’s body of work. Last year’s winner was Mo Hayder, and previous winners have included Colin Cotterill, Stuart MacBride and Craig Russell; whilst Lesley Horton and C J Sansom have been Highly Commended.

The nominated authors must be alive, preferably working in Britain and cannot have won the award before. As the award is for a body of work, authors should have published at least three books. Entries from reading groups or individuals are submitted through libraries.
[drumroll]...the longlisted authors are:

(links are to the Euro Crime website's bibliographies pages with reviews of many of the authors' titles)
The shortlist will be announced on 15 May at CrimeFest and the winner on 5 July 2012.

1 comment:

Maxine said...

Although I very much like some of these authors, they have only written three books, so I'd go for one of the enduring favourites, such as Nicci French or John Harvey.