Friday, July 06, 2007

Dagger Award Winners

The wait is over, as last night at the CWA gala do the winners were announced. The winners of the main awards are:

Duncan Lawrie Daggger - The Broken Shore by Peter Temple
Duncan Lawrie International Daggger - Wash This Blood Clean From My Hand by Fred Vargas
The CWA Ian Fleming Steel Dagger - Sharp Objects by Gillian Flynn

The complete list of winners is available on the CWA website.


LauraR said...

Sharp Objects - an excellent book but stretching it to call it a thriller in the vein of James Bond!

Maxine said...

Ok, Ok, I have all three books in my piles at home so will move them up the queue. Good to get your recommendation of Sharp Objects, Laura, I bought it recently on the basis of a review -- I think Karen C but it might have been another crime fic blogger. I'll check.
Karen, I bet you are pleased that Vargas won.

Fiona said...

I think it was very odd to go with Vargas for a second year running... especially as it was *only* the second year. I love Vargas, but I really don't think WTBCFMH was the best of that shortlist... The Exception and The Redbreast are both absolutely excellent and either would probably have made a better choice in terms of solidifying the award. But there we are! At least Peter Temple wone.

Euro Crime said...

I haven't read all the shortlist but I was rooting for Jo Nesbo, as I felt the same about The Redbreast as I did The Three Evangelists last year. I too love Vargas' work but felt the plotting element to WTB was a bit secondary to the atmosphere and characters. Look forward to your take Maxine :-).