Friday, November 09, 2007

More on the Ellis Peters Award

It took a bit longer than I thought but the CWA website has now been updated to state that Ariana Franklin won the CWA Ellis Peters Historical Crime Award:
Mistress of the Art of Death, by Ariana Franklin, has won this year’s CWA Ellis Peters Historical Crime Award - the prestigious prize for the best historical crime novel of 2007. The winner was announced by the Chair of judges, Janet Laurence, at a party held in London on the evening of Wednesday, November 7th. More information shortly ...

Judges’ comments:
‘Ariana Franklin has found a unique female protagonist, an Italian doctor trained in the study of death and brought to England as assistant to a renowned investigator charged by Henry II with the solving of murder. In this seductive book, characters leap into life, scenes form a closely woven and colourful tapestry, the central figure of Adelia, the mistress of the art of death, has an unusual charm, and the plot darkens as the story progresses.’

1 comment:

Peter Rozovsky said...

I finally took the plunge and joined a real reading group, with real, live people as members. I'll attend my first meeting next week, and the first book we'll discuss is Mistress of the Art of Death. I have some interest in that period in history, and I am always up for having my hesitations about historical crime fiction challenged, so we'll see what happens.
Detectives Beyond Borders
"Because Murder Is More Fun Away From Home"