Thursday, September 08, 2022

Award News: Petrona Award Entries 2022

I am pleased to announce that 31 of the 34 titles that were eligible for the 2022 Petrona Award for the Best Scandinavian Crime Novel of the Year have been entered by the publishers.

The winner of the Award will be announced online later this year.

The rules for eligibility are:
  • The submission must be in translation and published in English in the UK during the preceding calendar year ie 1 January – 31 December 2021.
  • The author of the submission must either be born in Scandinavia* or the submission must be set in Scandinavia*.
  • The submission must have been published in its original language after 1999.
(E-books that meet the above criteria may be considered at the judges’ discretion (does not include self-published titles))
*in this instance taken to be Denmark, Finland, Iceland, Norway and Sweden.

More details about the award and the history behind it can be found on the Petrona Award website. The winner of the 2021 Award was To Cook a Bear by Mikael Niemi, translated from the Swedish by Deborah Bragan-Turner and published by MacLehose Press.

The award is sponsored by David Hicks.


[16 titles are by Female authors and 15 by Male. There are 22 translators (13 Female (18 titles), 8 Male (12 titles) and 1 Female/Male collaboration (1 title)) and 5 countries are represented (13 Sweden, 7 Iceland, 7 Norway, 3 Finland and 1 Denmark).]

Maria Adolfsson - Fatal Isles tr. Agnes Broomé  (F, Sweden) Zaffre
Eva Björg Ægisdóttir - Girls Who Lie tr. Victoria Cribb (F, Iceland) Orenda Books

Kjell Ola Dahl - The Assistant tr. Don Bartlett (M, Norway) Orenda Books
Anders de la Motte - Rites of Spring tr. Marlaine Delargy (M, Sweden) Zaffre
Anders de la Motte - End of Summer tr. Neil Smith (M, Sweden) Zaffre

Katrine Engberg - The Butterfly House tr. Tara Chace (F, Denmark) Hodder & Stoughton

Helene Flood - The Therapist tr. Alison McCullough (F, Norway) MacLehose Press

Camilla Grebe - The Hideout tr. Sarah Clyne Sundberg (F, Sweden) Zaffre
Oskar Gudmundsson - The Commandments tr. Quentin Bates (M, Iceland) Corylus Books Ltd

Anne Holt - A Memory for Murder tr. Anne Bruce (F, Norway) Corvus
Jorn Lier Horst - A Question of Guilt tr. Anne Bruce (M, Norway) Michael Joseph
Horst & Enger - Smoke Screen tr. Megan Turney (M/M, Norway) Orenda Books

Arnaldur Indridason - The Darkness Knows tr. Victoria Cribb (M, Iceland) Harvill Secker

Stina Jackson - The Last Snow tr. Susan Beard (F, Sweden) Corvus
Ragnar Jonasson - The Girl Who Died tr. Victoria Cribb (M, Iceland) Michael Joseph

Camilla Lackberg - Silver Tears tr. Ian Giles (F, Sweden) HarperCollins
Camilla Lackberg - Truth or Dare (ebook only) tr. Ian Giles (F, Sweden) HarperCollins
Ruth Lillegraven - Everything Is Mine tr. Diane Oatley (F, Norway) AmazonCrossing
Johanna Mo - The Night Singer tr. Alice Menzies (F, Sweden) Headline
Hakan Nesser - The Lonely Ones tr. Sarah Death (M, Sweden) Mantle

Sofi Oksanen - Dog Park tr. Owen F Witesman (F, Finland) Atlantic Books

Sólveig Pálsdóttir - Silenced tr. Quentin Bates (F, Iceland) Corylus Books Ltd

John Kåre Raake - The Ice tr. Adam King (M, Norway) Pushkin Vertigo
Anders Roslund - Knock Knock tr. Elizabeth Clark Wessel (M, Sweden) Harvill Secker

Max Seeck - The Ice Coven tr. Kristian London (M, Finland) Welbeck
Lilja Sigurdardottir - Cold as Hell tr. Quentin Bates (F, Iceland) Orenda Books
Yrsa Sigurdardottir - The Doll tr. Victoria Cribb (F, Iceland) Hodder & Stoughton
Gustaf Skördeman - Geiger tr. Ian Giles (M, Sweden) Zaffre
Viveca Sten - In Bad Company tr. Marlaine Delargy (F, Sweden) AmazonCrossing

Antti Tuomainen - The Rabbit Factor tr. David Hackston (M, Finland) Orenda Books

Christian Unge - Hell and High Water tr. George Goulding & Sarah De Senarclens (M, Sweden) MacLehose Press

Not Submitted

Anna Ihren - The Man on the Beach (ebook only) tr. Michael Gallagher (F, Sweden) SAGA Egmont 
Mariette Lindstein - Shadow of Fog Island tr. Rachel Willson-Broyles (F, Sweden) HQ
Peter Mohlin & Peter Nyström - The Bucket List tr. Ian Giles (M, Sweden) The Overlook Press

1 comment:

K V Laihonen said...

Glad to See our internationally successful duo of Max Seeck and Antti Tuomainen represented among the contenders, but I have to take exception with Sofi Oksanen andher